The Exploitation Of Hospitality Workers Is No Longer Available

For far too long, hospitality workers have been subjected to unlivable wages, harassment, and racial + sexual discrimination. And The Community Spirit wanted to do something about it.

That was the thinking behind Project 86: The Community Spirit’s collaborative campaign that sought to usher in a more socially-just hospitality industry

We identified four areas of focus and worked with non-profit partners to elevate and amplify the work they’re doing to help improve the lives of hospitality workers.

For every signature on our pledge, we donated $12.87—the difference between a livable wage and the federal subminimum wage—to the Restaurant Workers’ Community Foundation

With the help of change makers every signature drove funds to an organization in need. 

Bars and restaurants will always represent the fabric of our communities. Let’s keep uplifting and supporting them by calling out injustices and celebrating them always.

Project 86 is The Community Spirit’s collaborative campaign to help usher in a more socially-just hospitality industry. Restaurant Workers' Community Foundation is an advocacy and action nonprofit created by and for restaurant workers. One Fair Wage is a national coalition, campaign, and organization seeking to end all subminimum wages in the United States Hot Bread Kitchen is a nonprofit that creates economic opportunity through careers in food. Heard is dedicated to the mental health and wellness of the food & beverage industry. Another Rally; Another Round is a hospitality based nonprofit that aims to provide funding, education, and emergency assistance for our bar and restaurant community.


Thank you to everyone who pledged for our #Project86 initiative in support of the hospitality industry. Signatures like yours were able to fulfill our commitment to funding non-profit organizations fighting to improve the lives of hospitality workers. The road to a more socially-just hospitality industry carries on, and we wanted to communicate our appreciation.

If you didn't get to participate, but you wanted to, we appreciate you! We have a lot of plans to celebrate more communities around you - so keep an eye out on more to come.

The best way to find out what we are up to next is to stay tuned for announcements on our Instagram page, @thecommunityspiritco.


Lien Ta

Braulio Amado

Cocktail Maven

Another Round Another Rally

Naama Tamir

Joel Rivas

Travis Nass

Hot Bread Kitchen

Allison Kave

Selma Slabiak

Wieden + Kennedy

Amanda Gunderson

Camille Austin

Maxime Briere

Lindsay Prociw

New York Community Organizing Fund

Guadalupe "Lupita" Garcia


Daniel Schneeweiss

Karen Fu

Tara Fougner

Moisés Guindi

Nat's on Bank

Moe Lamstein

Samantha Brody

Nicole Cooke

Caroline Keeley

Catalin Ayala

Jen Marshall

Jose Ignacio Jimenez

Iván Saldaña

Ben Rojo

Victor Porras

Chianne Nass

Kate Panza

Jacyara de Oliveira

Daniela Martinez

Robin Robinson LLC

Chris White

Samantha Wagner

Xander Opiyo

Rebecca Palkovics

Delaine De La Garza

Kerri Allen

Zuleika Hernandez

Meghan Mullen

Caroline Hatchett

Syd Hutnik

Bobby Kegel

John Reyna

Michael Monahan

Ariana Ekonomou

Saru Jayaraman

Caterina Miltenberg

Alexa Olsher

Olivia Gonzalez

Sara Stember

Heather Peterson

Ron Hernandez

Alex Doomany

Dillon Joseph

Carol Bryant

Miles Fermin

Molly Kalomiris

Ethan Friedman

Anthony Ramirez

Chantel Watkins

Dalia Rodríguez

Maria Hernandez

Ben Barrett

Cameron Carr

Adriana Mccord

Lenore/Goldman Associates

Kellyn Morris

Mike Van Dorn

Isaiah Cornell

One Fair Wage

Chris Gonzalez

Fausto Briosa

Sean Mclaughlin

Breyden Ford

Cassandre Gouraud

John Henry Binder

Emily Hauser

César Muñiz

Sarah Diehm

Jose Gonzalez

Katie Hume

Christine Kaculis

Julie Knight

Alex Danks

Nora Landis-Shack

Paula Lukas

Sophie Turk

Meagan Coleman

Kiki Louya

Jennifer Mule

Jose Ignacio Jimenez

Theresa Collins

Christian Perez

Niki Livanos

Lizzie Redman

Julio Rodriguez

Brooke Stites

Cindy Haas

Michelle Foster

Lawrence Whiting

Kiara Hidalgo

Alyssa Sartor

Brendan Dorsey

Christina Kim

Andrea Borgen

Nacxi Gaxiola

Megan Marcinko

Alyssa Barnes

Stella Kalomiris

Ryan OLeary

Samantha Casagrande

Joavanni Guadalupe

Sarah Henning

James Curich

Rinny Shim

Taylor Shim

Nechama Muchnik

Kaya Choi

Tracy Pease

Casandra Rosario

Barbara Sibley

Iman Mamdoub

Ana Isabel Rivas

Sean Johnson

Mike Servold

Paulina Marxuach

Kirstie Maryott

Michael Vitiello

Zack Green

Eric Garcia

Jilly Ko

Adam Tardif

Olivia DeFelice

Stephanie Anger

Maricela Gutierrez

Kelly Nalls

Marcela Sarmiento

Frances Morfin

Kaylah Burton

Katelyn Salzman

Johanna Cole

Tyler Stevens

Ariana Jefferson

Matthew Herman

Owen Hurley

Ciara Allen

Joe Bahar

Audrey Vernick

William Stauss

Susan Coss

Sanam Shah

Fidel Morfin

Caroline Brody

Anna Gomez